Archive for September 17, 2009

Daisy was Good, Jake is Swollen

I swear that little dog is nothing but trouble.  He really upsets me when he swells up, I guess because it reminds me that there’s not much to be done with him, but he stole some pasta last night, so tonight his leg is swollen somewhat again.  What a troublemaker.   It seemed a bit painful so I gave him some aspirin tonight, but he still bounces around like a little nut whether it hurts or not.  He does crack me up with his “welcome home, mommy” routine. 

Daisy was a good girl on the other hand-We have been riding every day this week so far-the first day, Monday, I was really sore in my hips but we worked anyway.  She took full advantage of it 🙂  She was crabby and gave me all sorts of trouble in trying to get her to do things.  The rest of the week she’s been better, and today was just great for her.  We rode inside at first, then we went outside to tackle my aversion from going out there.  She was pretty good, but she was fairly looky out there.  We went and rode anyway-she was on the bit, had good connection, held her head appropriately, and trotted on pretty good.  She was a little stiff at first, but she work out of it.  We ended when I had her canter once in each direction-she took her good lead first and did well.  We switched directions and she picked up her bad lead great!  She didn’t argue about it, she didn’t run into it, and she was balanced and slow.  It’s amazing to me that she can be so unbalanced sometimes and so nice and slow and balanced in other times.  I’m working a lot on keeping MY balance better-I think I lean too much all the time and it’s become a habit. 

Anyway, off to take care of Jakey-he’s doing ok, but he loves to get his attention 🙂

Leave a Comment