Archive for September 24, 2009

Focusing

I’ve been working on memorizing my tests for the show this weekend and I’m pretty sure I’ve got them both down.  I keep messing up on the easier one, but I know where I’m going wrong so it should be ok once I get used to it.  The bad thing is that Daisy is completely convinced that SHE knows the test.  She wants to do different thing than the tests require-picking up a canter in certain corners, putting in a diagonal where there should be something else, etc.  This would be ok, but she is quite insistant that we shoudl go one way when we are supposed to go the other.  I know that horses memorize patterns.  It’s very obvious, actually-they are made to stick to routines.  That’s why they always say you should feed a horse at approximately the same time every day and why they keep in certain areas in the wild, etc.  Daisy thinks I’m doing these tests wrong, though, so I actually have to fight with her to make her go the way she doesn’t think she should.  She tosses her head the opposite direction and pushes through her shoulder to try to get me to go that way.  It takes all I have to get her to turn the correct way and of course that looks like crap.  It’s another one of those things that makes me wonder what goes through her head.  She must think I’m SO dumb.  How can I mess up a simple pattern like this?  It’s quite obvious that we should be going this way-why does Mom want to go the other way?  Boy are we going to look stupid when we go to a show. 

I’m working on relaxation and halting right now because I guess she forgot how to stop correctly, too.  All in all, this could be an interesting show.

Leave a Comment